Licensed Clinical Addiction Specialist

Scope of Practice:  The practice of a licensed clinical addictions specialist may be independent and consists of the Twelve Core Functions, including screening, intake, orientation, assessment, treatment planning, counseling, case management, crisis intervention, client education, report and record keeping, consultation with other professionals in regard to client treatment and services, referral to reduce the conditions that place individuals at risk of developing addictive disorder or disease with co occurring disorders, and treatment for addictive disorder or disease. The licensed clinical addictions specialist may provide supervision to maintain a [CSAC or CCJP] …

Who may apply? This credential is only available to persons who have completed a Master’s Degree with a clinical internship from a regionally accredited college or university. Exceptions are not made for applicants based on experience or the various requirements for graduation that do not meet the standards of the North Carolina Substance Abuse Professional Practice Board.

How to Earn this Credential (LCAS Procedures Manual – Updated 8/1/2016)

There are several ways to earn the LCAS credential. Criteria A, B, and C are outlined in detail below.

Criteria A is the standard application procedure for all qualifying Master’s Degrees.

Criteria B is the application procedure for persons who already hold a CSAC from NCSAPPB.

Criteria C Schools/Programs (If your school is not included, then your program is not Criteria C) is the application procedure to pre-approved substance abuse/addictions Master’s degrees.

For more information on Criteria D (Deemed Status) please also click here.


1.  Registration – The applicant must first submit the items for registration. A Registered person is a considered a substance abuse professional who is receiving supervision from a Certified Clinical Supervisor or Clinical Supervisor Intern at a ratio of 1:10 hours. Applicants for Criteria C may enter Registration Status at a ratio of 1:40 hours. Applicants for Criteria D (Deemed Status) will not need to submit a supervision contract. Applicants for LCAS through Criteria B, C, or D will be considered an LCAS – Associate upon completion of registration. Please Note: Registration is limited to 5 years, after which an applicant must re-apply. The items required for registration are:

  • Documentation of high school graduation, completion of GED, Baccalaureate or advanced degree. These items must be scanned and updated.
  • A  supervision agreement by a CCS or a CCS Intern
  • Agreement to adhere to the Ethical Principles of Conduct of the Board
  • Completion of 3 clock hours of ethics training
  • Resume and Job Description
  • Registration Fee ($125.00) (non-refundable) to the NCSAPPB
  • Completion of SBI/SBI background check to include $38.00 (non-refundable) fee to NCSAPPB

2.  Associate LCAS – The registered applicant (Criteria A) has reached Associate status once they submit to the Board the necessary documentation. Criteria A applicants may take the IC&RC examination at this point. Applicants for Criteria B and D (Social Work ATOD only) must complete the items indicated in the Associate LCAS and Full Licensure section before they may take the IC&RC examination.

  • Verification of 300 Hour Supervised post-Masters Practicum completed by a CCS or CSI
  • Supervision Agreement by a CCS/CSI. This may have been completed for registration.
  • Examination Fee (non-refundable) of $125

3.   Full Licensure – Due to the multiple criteria for which one can apply to become LCAS, the completion of the license process may vary for each applicant. Below is a list of required materials to complete the LCAS organized by criteria.

  • Criteria A – 1) Verification of Clinical Addictions Counseling Experience with 4,000 hours (2 years, post-Masters), 2) Credential Training Record with 180 Substance Abuse Specific hours, including 6 hours HIV/AIDS/BB/STD, and 6 hours Ethics, 6 hours of clinical supervision specific training, and 6 hours in a) Nicotine Dependence, b) Substance Abuse and Veterans, c) Substance Abuse and the Elderly, d) Psychopathology, and/or e) Evidence Based Treatment Approaches and Three Letters of Reference.
  • Criteria B— Completed Three Letters of Reference, and the IC&RC AADC examination.
  • Criteria C—1) Verification of Clinical Addictions Counseling Experience with 2,000 hours (1 year, post-Masters) and 2) Three Letters of Reference.

Criteria D—The Criteria D (Deemed Status) Applicant is granted the LCAS once all application materials are received. Only the NASW ATOD applicant must complete the IC&RC AADC examination in order to be licensed.